reprieve

re·prieve
rəˈprēv/
noun: a temporary escape from an undesirable fate or unpleasant situation
The above definition is a bit melodramatic. But a few weeks ago, Paul and I were able to take a little reprieve. We escaped our regular lives, a bit on a whim to spend almost 3 whole days in sunny Florida from January 30 until Feb 2!
 IMG_5750
My parents rented a house on Little Gasparilla Island (2 hours south of Tampa) and invited us to go with them over Christmas. Looking at my schedule for work, and a transition in our department I did not figure there was anyway I could leave work the last weekend of January. When the transitions timeline shifted, Paul’s first question was “Do you think this means we could go to Florida?” I nervously approached my leadership who said, “GO!!”
We drove through the night on Thursday- 12+ hours and were able to spend the next three days on the beach, in the sunshine, reading, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, running, exploring, singing to conk shells, sleeping, and bronzing our skin with some of our favorite people.
It was just what we needed, and our souls were blessed. The following week was INSANE, but we treasured our time spent at the beach.

2 thoughts on “reprieve

  1. What a sweet weekend it was! It was relaxing while being busy with fun activities.
    I love you two crazies and I count those three days as some of the most precious of my life!

Leave a comment